Parenting school-aged children as a Postdoctoral Scholar

- P u l s e -

Well, it’s 3:30pm on Thursday – time to pick up my sons from after school care, drop one off at dance lessons, meet up with my husband to do the kid trade-off, then head back to the lab.  Maybe I should eat something now?  Nope, don’t have time.  At least I have a flexible schedule so I can make it work, and a very understanding boss.  This is my life as a postdoc with school-aged kids.

It can be hectic, but having kids and being a postdoc certainly can be done.  However, you do need LOTS of support.  I am lucky in that I have a very supportive husband who also has a lot of flexibility with his job.  Without that, it would be extremely difficult, and I probably wouldn’t be able to put in the required hours.  Well, maybe if I didn’t sleep, but I really need sleep!

Many…

View original post 640 more words

Leave a Reply

