Parenting a toddler as a Postdoctoral Scholar

- P u l s e -

Before I wrote this, I had a chance to read Stephanie’s post describing her experience raising school-aged children during her postdoc. Much of what she described resonates with my situation; that said, I have a 3 year-old boy and hopefully I can provide a slightly different perspective. Being a postdoc with a toddler presents many unique challenges and experiences.

In January 2014, I arrived in Calgary from Hungary, with my not-quite-1yr-old and my Hungarian husband, but our struggle with childcare actually started many months before that.

I felt fortunate to find an ideal postdoc position in my home province but my supervisors were eager to have someone start on the project and would only wait a few months for me to join. That meant we needed to immigrate to Calgary on short notice. Neither of our families lived in Calgary so we were in desperate need of childcare. I quickly…

View original post 688 more words

Leave a Reply

